War Memorials in every town and village are a testament to the sacrifice made by rural society in the 1914-18 war which brought uncertainty and hardship. For example, 152 of North Berwick's men lost their lives on active service.
It was often difficult to get unanimous agreement on the form that memorials would take.
A meeting was held in East Linton on the 5th February 1919 to consider options for a Memorial to those from the Burgh and the Parish who had fallen in the war. Various schemes were suggested - a public park, an institute, a monument, a fund, the income of which would be annually applied for the benefit of the Burgh and Parish.
On the 11th February, the Burgh Council agreed to approach the agents of the Mitchell Innes family of Phantassie estate to sell 5.139 acres of the School Park as a memorial park where a War Memorial could be erected. Meantime other schemes were to be kept open.
At a meeting held on 12th March 1919, it was agreed to accept the offer of the owners to sell 5.139 acres of the School Park at a price of £375 and to report to a public meeting on the 25th March.
Arrangements for raising the money were agreed at a meeting on 8th April. The former Burgh was divided into eight areas for a door to door collection and circulars send to other areas in the Parish.
On the 26th May, it was reported that £307.8/- had been subscribed. £200 was to be allocated for a War Memorial which had to be enclosed with "an unclimbable fence". Five men agreed to give loans on an interest free basis to allow the purchase to proceed.