Works of remembrance were begun almost as soon as the war itself. In 1914 Kirkcaldy Council determined to inscribe in its records all the names of the men who had fallen. Rolls of honour giving the names of everyone who had volunteered were created in many towns – and in Tayport they sold copies to raise funds for the Red Cross.
The creation of war memorials was not always straightforward. Frequent meetings were held by the Town Councils of Anstruther Easter, Anstruther Wester and Kilrenny to discover a site for a joint memorial, before the rate payers of Kilrenny decided to go their own way after an acrimonious public meeting.
Schools, churches, companies, clubs and other organisations created memorials for those who had been lost. Memorial windows, communion tables, inscribed rolls of honour kept the stories alive. Sadly we know of no "thankful villages" in Fife – nowhere that escaped the slaughter and erected a monument to their good fortune.